Charbel Aoun

What lessons can be drawn as the Smart City concept enters its second decade?

As I open a new chapter in my career, I’ve been reflecting on the last 9 years of my life in smart cities. So far it’s been a fascinating journey and I feel privileged and grateful to have been at the forefront of the movement. At the same time, I wonder what the future might hold.

In my opinion there have been four fundamental phases in the evolution of smart cities that have culminated in the shifts that we see in play today:

In a sense, the smart city market was created on the supply-side, by global IT companies seeking to sell complex, large scale transformations to cities. At this primary stage, many cities simply were neither convinced of the relevance of the solutions being offered to their citizens, nor that they were in any way…

View original post 1,278 more words

